Assembly Election Dates 2022: Elections can be held in 6-8 phases in UP, know what is the possibility in Punjab and other states

Story Highlights

  • Election dates will be announced today by the commission
  • NDA government in 4 out of 5 states

Vidhan Sabha Election 2022 DatesRegarding the assembly elections in 5 states, the Election Commission will announce the election dates at 3.30 pm on Saturday. According to the sources of the Election Commission, elections will be held in 6 to 8 phases in UP. Elections can be held in Punjab in 2 to 3 phases, while in Manipur polling can be held in two phases. Elections will be held in one phase in Goa and Uttarakhand.

According to sources, the commission will increase the number of booths in this election. A reduction of up to one-fourth is possible in the maximum number of voters per booth. Also, in view of the increasing pace of Corona, the Commission may impose restrictions or very strict rules on road shows, processions, and large rallies. Apart from this, all the rules of Corona will be strictly followed from voting work to voting. Strictness will also be taken to follow the rules of Corona.

Legislative Assembly elections are to be held in February-March in 5 states of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur. Uttar Pradesh has 403 assembly seats while Uttarakhand has 70 seats. Apart from this, elections are to be held on 117 assembly seats in Punjab, 60 in Manipur and 40 in Goa.

The term of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly is being completed on 14 May 2022. In such a situation, before May 14, the process of forming the assembly and the new government has to be completed. There are total 403 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh. The last assembly elections were held in February-March 2017. BJP led NDA came to power by winning 325 seats and Yogi Adityanath was sworn in as Chief Minister on 19 March 2017. CM Yogi is the first CM of BJP, who has completed a five-year term in Uttar Pradesh.

Must Check  Amravati Murder Case: FIR of Amravati murder case makes big revelations!

The term of the 70-seat Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly is ending on 23 March. In the 2017 assembly elections, the BJP formed the government with a thumping majority by winning 57 seats, while the opposition Congress got only 11 seats. Trivendra Singh Rawat became the Chief Minister, but after removing him after four years, BJP first made Tirath Singh Rawat and just a few months later Pushkar Singh Dhami as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

The term of the Punjab Legislative Assembly is ending on 27 March 2022. In the 2017 assembly elections in 117-seat Punjab, the Congress returned to power after ten years, winning 77 seats, while the Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP alliance was reduced to just 18 seats. Aam Aadmi Party became the main opposition party by winning 20 seats. Captain Amarinder Singh became the Chief Minister, but after four years, the Congress replaced Captain Amarinder with Charanjit Singh Channi as the Chief Minister. To form the government in Punjab, any party or alliance will have to get the figure of 59 seats.

The term of the Legislative Assembly of the 60-seat Northeast state of Manipur is ending on March 19, 2022. In such a situation, before this the process of government formation in the state will have to be completed. In the 2017 Manipur Assembly elections, BJP emerged as the single largest party by winning 24 seats. Congress became the main opposition party with 17 MLAs. BJP formed the government with the support of NPP, LJP and independent MLAs and N Birender Singh became the Chief Minister of the state.

The term of the 40-seat Goa Legislative Assembly ends on March 15. The last assembly elections in the state were held in February 2017. Congress emerged as the single largest party by winning 15 seats, but it could not form the government. BJP won 13 seats and was successful in forming the government with the help of MGP, GFP and two independent MLAs. Manohar Parrikar became the Chief Minister of Goa, but after the death of Manohar Parrikar on 17 March 2019, Dr. Pramod Sawant was made the Chief Minister of the state.

Stay Tuned to Janta Yojana for more Latest & Breaking Delhi News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.