Story Highlights

  • Sarabjit Kaur appointed as Mayor of Chandigarh
  • No party got majority in the election
  • MP also has the right to cast one vote

Making a big difference in the Union Territory of Chandigarh, BJP has captured the post of Mayor. BJP’s Sarabjit Kaur has become the mayor of Chandigarh. AAP, which has emerged as the single largest party in civic elections, has alleged rigging in the mayoral elections. After the election, all the councilors of the Aam Aadmi Party have sat on a dharna behind the mayor’s chair. DC Vinay Pratap Singh has also been stopped on the spot. Marshals have been called inside the municipal corporation, the scuffle continues. The councilor of AAP has also sat on the chair next to the mayor.

Let us inform that during the Chandigarh civic elections, BJP had won 12 seats. Whereas 14 seats came in the account of AAP. After being expelled from the Congress, Devendra Singh Babla along with his newly elected councilor wife Harpreet Kaur Babla has joined the BJP, while BJP MP Kirron Kher also has the right to cast one vote. In this way BJP had got 14 votes.

no one got majority

There are 35 seats in Chandigarh Municipal Corporation. The civic polls were held on December 24 in which no party could cross the majority mark. But the AAP, which came for the first time, created panic by winning 14 seats. While 12 councilors of BJP, 8 councilors of Congress and 1 councilor of Akali Dal had won.

There was a contest between BJP-AAP

The BJP had nominated Sarabjit Kaur, wife of former councilor Jagtar Singh Jagga, as its mayoral candidate. At the same time, AAP has made Anju Katyal the candidate for the post of mayor. Congress has announced not to participate in the election, they have not nominated their candidate for mayor.

Must Check  UP Violence: Strict action against those who spread violence: UP ADG

All the parties were afraid of horse-trading. That is why the Congress had sent all its councilors to Jaipur in Rajasthan. who just returned today. AAP councilors first stayed in Delhi, then came to Kasauli and then to Chandigarh.

At the same time, the BJP had sent its councilors to Shimla. They all returned on Friday evening. Let us inform that on January 1, all the new 35 councilors have also taken oath.

Stay Tuned to Janta Yojana for more latest news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *