Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Winners

rajiv gandhi khel ratna

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is one such gem, which is said to be the highest sports award given in India. The award is named after former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. This award is given to honor the players on their victories, in which a medal, a citation, and Rs 7.5 lakh are given to the awardee.

Along with this, a free railway pass facility is also given to the awardee citizens. Through this, the winners of the R. G. Khel Ratna Award and Dhyan Chand Awardee can travel free of cost in first and second-class air-conditioned coaches in Rajdhani or Shatabdi trains.

rajiv gandhi khel ratna

If you also want to know about Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, then here you are being provided with detailed information about what is Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, who is given this award, the history of this award, prize amount of the award, and more.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest honor given to sportspersons in India. This honor was started from 1991 to 1992. This award is given to make the players more enthusiastic about the game. That’s why Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was started to bring appreciation and awareness in the field of sports. The players who are declared winners in the game are awarded the R. G. Khel Ratna award.

The Rajiv Gandhi Ratna Award is given to the players who have won the National Games with good performance. For example, Indian wrestler Bajrang Punia is the 9th wrestler from India to get a gold medal in Asian Games. He received this award in the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Asian Games. Along with this, he was awarded a silver medal at the 2018 World Wrestling Championships.

Must Check  What is Arjuna Award? List of Arjuna Award Recipients Till Now

 rajiv gandhi khel ratna award winners list

Apart from this, Deepa Malik has become the first female para-athlete to receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Along with this, he was also called in the Himalaya Car Rally. She is the first woman from India to participate in the Himalaya Car Rally.

Important Details About Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Year of establishment 1991-92
Prize money 7,50,000
First winner Viswanathan Anand
Description Highest sports award given in India

Prize Amount of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

The winners of this award are awarded a medal, a certificate of honor, and a cash prize. Till the year 2004-05, players were given Rs 5,00,000/- in cash, but now players get Rs 7,50,000 in cash. The winner is awarded the R. G. Khel Ratna annually. Apart from this, the winners honored by the Government of India also get free railway pass facilities.

List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Recipients

 who was the first recipient of rajiv gandhi khel ratna award

Year  Name of the recipient Discipline
1991–1992 Vishwanathan Anand Chess
1992–1993 Geet Sethi Billiards
1993–1994 Homi Motivala Yachting (Team event)
1993–1994 Pushpendra Kumar Garg Yachting (Team event)
1994–1995 Karnam Malleshwari Weightlifting
1995–1996 Nameirakpam Kunjarani Weightlifting
1996–1997 Leander Paes Tennis
1997–1998 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1998–1999 Jyotirmai Sikdar Athletics
1999–2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey
2000–2001 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2002 K. M. Beenamol Athletics
2002 Anjali Bhagwat Shooting
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2007 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2009 Mary Kom Boxing
2009 Vijender Singh Boxing
2009 Sushil Kumar Freestyle wrestling
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt Freestyle wrestling
2013 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2016 P. V. Sindhu Badminton
2016 Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
2016 Jitu Rai Shooting
2016 Sakshi Malik Freestyle wrestling
2017 Devendra Jhajaria Paralympic javelin
2017 Sardara Singh Hockey
2018 Saikhom Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2018 Virat Kohli Cricket
2019 Deepa Malik Paralympic (shot put, javelin, others)
2019 Bajrang Punia Freestyle wrestling
2020 Rohit Sharma Cricket
2020 Mariyappan Thangavelu Paralympic high jump
2020 Manika Batra Table tennis
2020 Vinesh Phogat Freestyle wrestling
2020 Rani Rampal Hockey
2021 Neeraj Chopra Athletics
2021 Ravi Kumar Dahiya Freestyle wrestling
2021 Lovlina Borgohain Boxing
2021 P. R. Sreejesh Hockey
2021 Avani Lekhara Paralympic shooting
2021 Sumit Antil Para-athletics
2021 Pramod Bhagat Para-badminton
2021 Krishna Nagar Para-badminton
2021 Manish Narval Paralympic shooting
2021 Mithali Raj Cricket
2021 Sunil Chhetri Football
2021 Manpreet Singh Hockey
Must Check  How to Check Bank Balance Online Without Going to Bank?


Here we have provided you with complete information about Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. It is the most respectable honor given to the sportsperson in India. If you have any questions related to this post, then you can feel free to ask us in the comments section. Keep visiting Janta Yojana to get more useful posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *