Rampur seat result: BJP won in Azam Khan’s stronghold Rampur, Ghanshyam Lodhi won by 42 thousand votes

Story Highlights

    Rampur seat, considered to be the stronghold of SP leader Azam Khan, was once close to Azam Khan, Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi

The results of the by-elections to the Rampur Lok Sabha seat of Uttar Pradesh are out. Here BJP has defeated Samajwadi Party by making a big difference. BJP candidate Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi defeated SP candidate Asim Raza by 42,192 votes.

Rampur seat is considered to be the stronghold of SP leader Azam Khan. In 2019, Azam Khan had won the Rampur Lok Sabha seat. After this, in the assembly elections in 2022, Azam Khan landed from this seat and won the election.

Seat was vacant due to resignation of Azam Khan

After becoming an MLA, Azam Khan resigned from the Lok Sabha membership, after which Lok Sabha by-elections were now held here. Azam Khan, who came out of jail for more than two years, had fielded his supporter Asim Raza from this seat. Azam Khan himself had announced the name of Asim, he was doing full publicity on his own. SP’s national president Akhilesh Yadav did not reach here even once for campaigning, while the BJP had put its full force.

Counting of votes started at 8 am on Sunday. After counting from morning Asim was continuously walking ahead. It was believed that Aseem is going to live up to Azam’s hopes in the by-election. But, Azam’s supporter Asim could not get success at the last moment.

Let us inform that the winning candidate has been Ghanshyam Lodhi MLC. Lodhi has also been close to Azam Khan once. He had joined BJP in 2022 itself.

Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi has also been considered very close to former Chief Minister Kalyan Singh. During the MLC elections held in 2004, he contested on the ticket of the alliance of Kalyan Singh’s Rashtriya Kranti Party and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s SP and won.

Must Check  Bhilai News: Urban Gothan becomes a source of income for women groups - Naidunia.com

Senior SP leader Azam Khan was elected MP from this seat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Azam Khan was elected MLA in the recently concluded UP Assembly elections. After being elected to the assembly, Azam Khan resigned from the membership of the Lok Sabha.

read this also

Stay Tuned to Janta Yojana for more latest news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.