What is Sahitya Akademi Award : List of Sahitya Akademi Award Winners

sahitya akademi award

Do you want to know what is Sahitya Akademi Award and who gets this award? If yes, then this post is for you. Know all about the Sahitya Akademi Prize in this guide. Sahitya Akademi Award is an award given to writers. This Sahitya Akademi Award is given every year to the best works of Indian languages.

Apart from this, translation awards, children’s literature awards, and youth writing awards are also given by Sahitya Akademi every year in various Indian languages. The Sahitya Akademi Award was instituted in the year 1955. Along with this award, a cash amount of 1 lakh rupees is also given to the winners.

sahitya akademi award

Therefore, if you also want to know about the Sahitya Award, then here you are given the details. Know what is the Sahitya Akademi Award, its establishment, beginning, and the prize amount of this award. Detailed information is being provided below.

Sahitya Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi Award is given for 24 languages. An Indian citizen who is a writer of any language under 24 languages is awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award and is also given the cash amount of the award. This award is given every year to the winning authors.

 sahitya akademi award 2021 winner

Establishment of Sahitya Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi was established on 12th March 1954. Cultural exchange programs and literary conferences are organized across the country under Sahitya Akademi. Sahitya Akademi was registered as a society in 1956 under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. To receive this award, there is a 10-member board for Indian citizens to get information about each language, which provides information about the working and publication of the concerned language.

Prize Amount of Sahitya Puraskar

After the establishment of this award, the Sahitya Puraskar was started in 1955 and this award was given in 1955. When the award was instituted, the cash amount of the award was fixed at only 5 thousand rupees. But, now the cash amount is increased to Rs. 1,00,000.

Must Check  Best Paisa Kamane Wala Game : Top 18 Games To Earn Money

List of Sahitya Akademi Award Winners (English)

Year Book Writer Category of Books
1960 The Guide R. K. Narayan Novel
1964 The Serpent and the Rope Raja Rao Novel
1965 The Tribal World of Verrier Elwin Verrier Elwin Autobiography
1967 Shadow From Ladakh Bhabani Bhattacharya Novel
1969 An Artist in Life Niharranjan Ray Biography
1971 Morning Face Mulk Raj Anand Novel
1975 Scholar Extraordinary Nirad C. Chaudhuri Biography
1976 Jawaharlal Nehru Sarvepalli Gopal Biography
1977 Azadi Chaman Nahal Novel
1978 Fire on the Mountain Anita Desai Novel
1979 Inside the Haveli Rama Mehta Novel
1980 On the Mother K. R. Srinivasa Iyengar Biography
1981 Relationship Jayanta Mahapatra Poetry
1982 The Last Labyrinth Arun Joshi Novel
1983 Latter-Day Psalms Nissim Ezekiel Poetry
1984 The Keeper of the Dead Keki N. Daruwalla Poetry
1985 Collected Poems Kamala Das Poetry
1986 Rich Like Us Nayantara Sahgal Novel
1987 Trapfalls In the Sky Shiv K. Kumar Poetry
1988 The Golden Gate Vikram Seth Novel
1989 The Shadow Lines Amitav Ghosh Novel
1990 That Long Silence Shashi Deshpande Novel
1991 The Trotter-Nama I. Allan Sealy Novel
1992 Our Trees Still Grow in Dehra Ruskin Bond Novel
1993 After Amnesia G. N. Devy Essays
1994 Serendip Dom Moraes Poetry
1996 Memories of Rain Sunetra Gupta Novel
1998 Final Solutions and Other Plays Mahesh Dattani Drama
1999 The Collected Poems A. K. Ramanujan Poetry
2000 Cuckold Kiran Nagarkar Novel
2001 Rajaji: A Life Rajmohan Gandhi Biography
2002 A New World Amit Chaudhuri Novel
2003 The Perishable Empire Meenakshi Mukherjee Essays
2004 The Mammaries of the Welfare State Upamanyu Chatterjee Novel
2005 The Algebra of Infinite Justice Arundhati Roy Essays
2006 The Sari Shop Rupa Bajwa Novel
2007 Disorderly Women Malathi Rao Novel
2009 Mahabharata: An Inquiry into the Human Condition Chaturvedi Badrinath Criticism
2010 The Book of Rachel Esther David Novel
2011 India after Gandhi Ramachandra Guha Historical Narrative
2012 These Errors are Correct Jeet Thayil Poetry
2013 Laburnum For My Head Temsula Ao Short stories
2014 Trying to Say Goodbye Adil Jussawalla Poetry
2015 Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer Cyrus Mistry Novel
2016 Em and the Big Hoom Jerry Pinto Novel
2017 The Black Hill Mamang Dai Novel
2018 The Blind Lady’s Descendants Anees Salim Novel
2019 An Era of Darkness Shashi Tharoor Novel (non-fiction)
2020 When God is a Traveller Arundhathi Subramaniam[9] Poetry
Must Check  What is e-RUPI? e-RUPI Digital Payment Solution Benefits, Uses, Key Details

Final Words

Here we have provided you with information about Sahitya Akademi Award. This award is given to honor the literature in 24 different Indian languages. If you have any doubts related to this post, then you can ask them in the comments box below. We hope you like this post. Keep visiting Janta Yojana for more useful posts. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *